Wednesday, June 02, 2021

Montgomery Catholic Third Grader Sets National Accelerated Reading Record

Montgomery Catholic was proud to celebrate a third-grader at our Holy Spirit Campus awards assembly on Thursday, May 27. Justin Lee set a National point record for Renaissance Accelerated Reader during the 2020-21 school year.

After breaking the school’s AR point record, Justin set a personal goal to break the National AR record of 2,018 points in an 8 month period. He exceeded that point total and went on to reach a final total of 2,718.6 points within 9 months. When asked why he enjoys reading so much, Justin replied, “ Books are fun...I like the bible, science, history, even biography. At every moment, the best book I like is the one I started reading.” In honor of Justin’s amazing achievements, Montgomery Catholic has created a new AR award for students called the “Justin Lee Top Hat” award.

During the 2020-21 school year, Justin read and tested on a total of 333 books in order to get his final AR point total. According to Justin’s mother, Helen Lee, he actually read closer to 700-1000 books this school year, but the Accelerated Reader program does not contain tests for the rest of the books that he has read this year. Mrs. Lee explained that Justin has always had a strong interest in books. She says, “When I asked Justin what gift he would like on his 7th birthday, he replied, ‘I want to have a library at home.’ My husband and I laughed, but his grandfather, who heard the story, funded to make a library for Justin. The library contains more than 10,000 books now.”

Justin is not only a gifted reader, but he’s also a straight-A student, speaks several languages including English and Korean, is a second-degree black belt in Taekwondo, and plays piano, trumpet, and guitar.

Friday, May 21, 2021

Spring Signing Day 2021

Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School held a signing ceremony for seniors Mckenzie Norton, Allie Berg, Jalen Thomas, and Dean Johnson. The event was held at the Montgomery Catholic High School Campus at 3:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 19, 2021.

All four Catholic Knight athletes signed to play their respective sport at the college level.

Allie Berg signed her letter of intent to cheer with the Spring Hill Badgers. She has been a member of Catholic’s varsity cheer team for two years. She is a four-time United Cheerleading and Dance Association All-American athlete. This year, she was the captain of the varsity cheerleading squad and was the recipient of the Leadership Award. She has attended Montgomery Catholic for 3 years and is the daughter of Cristopher and Sarah Berg of Pike Road, AL.

Dean Johnson signed his letter of intent to play baseball with the AUM Warhawks. He is a 3 year varsity starter and recipient of the Leadership Award. He has a .343 BA, 9 Doubles, and .607 OBP. He has been a student at Montgomery Catholic since Kindergarten and is the son of Bruce and Michelle Johnson of Prattville, AL.

Mckenzie Norton signed her letter of intent to play softball with the Georgia Southwestern Hurricanes. She is a 3 time all CCC team and an all-metro honorable mention. She has a .391 batting avg, and is 2nd on the team in stolen bases with 33 and hits with 48. She has been a varsity player since 8th grade, led her team to regionals twice, and won the Leadership Award for her Senior season. She has attended Montgomery Catholic since 6th grade and is the daughter of Michael Norton and Glynn Brewer of Montgomery, AL.

Jalen Thomas signed his letter of intent to play basketball with the Mitchell College Mariners. He is a 3 time varsity athlete and a Coaches Award recipient. His Junior and Senior years he helped lead his team to the Final Four and the State Championship game respectively. He has been a student at Montgomery Catholic for six years and is the son of Anthony and Nakia Thomas of Montgomery, AL.

Montgomery Catholic President Justin Castanza, Principal Eileen Aaron, Athletic Director Daniel Veres, Head Softball Coach Whitney Toole, Head Cheerleading Coach Sarah Berg, Head Basketball Coach Mike Curry, and Head Baseball Coach Tony Hudson welcomed parents and families to our Campus Signing Day.

Montgomery Catholic is looking forward to following these students and their college careers over the next four years. GO KNIGHTS!

Friday, April 23, 2021

Montgomery Catholic Robotics Team Wins State Tournament Two Years in a Row

For the fifth year in a row, the Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School RoboKnights represented our school at the VEX Robotics State Competition. For the second year in a row, one high school team, “Happy Little Accidents” competed and won the title of State Tournament Champion.

Coach Vicki Petters credits their success to methodical building, testing, and programming. “This team has been focused on testing and adjusting all season long,” said Petters, of the team who won one of only two in-person tournaments in the River Region this year. “They began this season not knowing if there would be a State tournament, but prepared themselves for every opportunity to compete.”
Aidan Cochran and Hunter Dailey

The VEX Robotics challenge this year is called “Change Up,” and like in previous challenges, two alliances of two robots face each other on the playing field. The teams are tasked with using their robots to either shoot blue or red balls into the top of goals or pull balls out of the bottom of the goals to change which color ball is on top. Like in previous challenges, robots can score additional points by demonstrating autonomous programs in the first 15 seconds of each round. The remaining minute and 45 seconds are driver-controlled and allow the teams to demonstrate not only their designs but also their skills at operating their robots.

Unlike in previous years, the COVID pandemic challenged the Vex Game Design Committee to develop a way for teams to compete remotely. “Happy Little Accidents” quickly mastered this remote format, helping them win the State Tournament from their home field.

Happy Little Accidents is comprised of senior and VEX Worlds alumni Aidan Cochran, and 9th grader Hunter Dailey. The team will be competing in the Worlds tournament in this remote format from May 20-22, 2021.

Friday, April 16, 2021

Montgomery Catholic Track & Field Sets Two New School Records

Jeremiah Cobb
At the TR Miller Track and Field meet on Thursday, April 8th, the Knights Track Team set 2 new school records and placed in several events.

Sophomore, Jeremiah Cobb came in 1st place in the Boys 100m dash and set a new school record with a time of 10.96. Cobb also placed 1st in the Boys 200m dash. Sophmore, Matthew Galvin set another school record in the Boy's Triple Jump with a distance of 40-09.50 which was good for 2nd place.

Matthew Galvin
Other top finishers for the boys Knights were Titus Franklin who placed 2nd in the 400m dash, Sam Leslie who placed 5th in the 400m dash and 2nd in the 1600m, Andres Lemuz who placed 4th in the 800m, Kylon Griffin who placed 4th in the 110m hurdles, and Shawn Sponsler who placed 1st in high jump and 2nd in javelin. Our top girls finisher was Ann Cobb who finished 5th in the 100m dash, 3rd in the 200m dash, and 1st in the 400m dash.